|Painting inspired by a rare 1905 postcard|
In August of 1812 Dr. Manney purchased lot #70 for only $65 and most likely began building this house for his soon-to-be bride, Maria Frederica Lente, also from
The original classic Federal-style home, with two stories and double front porches, also included a ventilating attic under a broken-pitch roof.
This unique Beaufort residence has been added to extensively over the years, but still retains a remarkable assortment of the original material—much of it embedded in the home. Locked within the walls is the complete pegged, mortise and tenon timber framing the original structure. All framing joints are marked with chiseled Roman numerals.
The long east (back) extension, with its two-story gallery and the hand-sawn “Turkey Buzzard” gingerbread that covers the house, appear to have been added in a late-Victorian (1850-1890) attempt to “gussy up” this home.
Besides tending to the sick in Beaufort and at
In the late 1820’s, Manney was involved in supplying the brick for the building of
In 1830 Manney ended up having to mortgage all of his property, both personal and real, which included extensive holdings in real estate, ten slaves, all of his household and kitchen furniture, his library of books, medicines, surgical instruments, a gig and harness, two horses and his brick yard. In 1832, unable to repay the debt, part of his property was sold under foreclosure.
Manney and his wife had eight children. James Lente Manney was born in 1827. On December 20, 1848 he married Julia Ann Fulford, whose father was the lighthouse keeper at
|Dr. James Lente Manney|
The Manneys are buried in the Old Burial Ground in Beaufort.
The Dr. James Manney House is featured in Porchscapes.